I’d love to get some discussion going here, so please feel free to comment! 🙂  I’d love to hear what you wish you would have known before starting the adoption process.  It absolutely doesn’t have to be CAC related – it can be regarding the home study process, domestic vs. international adoption, post adoption depression – whatever!! 

I know personally, before we adopted the first time, I wish I had a better understanding of how tough the wait would be.  I know it’s naive, but when people told me the process could be tough, I’m telling ya, I thought they meant the paperwork! 🙂  The paperwork was a breeze for a Type A personality like me.  I wasn’t prepared for how difficult moments of the wait felt.  Waiting for our profile to be shown, relying on God when we weren’t chosen, then waiting for our daughter (and then son) to be born and praying that they were okay and that their birth families were okay.  It was such a time of trial, but also a time of so much trust and learning to rely solely on God.  It’s one of those things that can’t be taught – I couldn’t be told prior to experiencing it, but looking back, our waiting periods in both adoptions had God’s fingerprints all over them.  I hear every adoptive family say it, and I believe it 100% – God has a plan for you and for the precious babies and families making adoption plans.  When the waiting period is hard, remember that the children meant for us, come to us.

What are things you wish you had known or focused more on during the adoption process?

